Field Hockey, Women’s Soccer Defeat Springfield to Win NEWMAC Championships

Field Hockey, Women’s Soccer Defeat Springfield to Win NEWMAC Championships

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The MIT field hockey and women’s soccer teams made history on Sunday afternoon as they both defeated Springfield College en route to the programs’ first NEWMAC Championship titles and NCAA Tournament appearances. The No. 2-seeded field hockey squad topped No. 4 Springfield, 4-2, while the No. 3 women’s soccer team blanked the No. 4 Pride, 1-0.

The fields for both NCAA Championship Tournaments will be announced on Monday, Nov. 9 at

MIT ended Springfield field hockey’s five-year run as conference champions while the Engineers denied the Pride soccer squad an opportunity to earn back-to-back titles.

Women’s soccer did not surrender a goal on its path to the NEWMAC Championship. The Engineers kicked off the tournament with a 4-0 victory over WPI in quarterfinal action on Saturday, Oct. 31. The following week, the Cardinal and Gray blanked No. 2-seeded Wheaton College, 1-0, before replicating that score in the title game versus Springfield.

Alisha Lussiez paced MIT’s attack with three goals and an assist, including the game-winning strikes against Wheaton and Springfield. Emily Kuo notched a goal and an assist as Liz Theurer and Connie Park each recorded two assists. In 245 minutes of action, Meaghan Wright collected 26 saves and two complete-game shutouts. Katy Olesnavage recorded one save in 25 minutes of play against WPI.

MIT field hockey began its playoff run on Saturday, Oct. 31 by defeating Babson College, 3-0, which avenged a regular-season 3-2 overtime loss. A week later, the Engineers dismissed No. 6 Mount Holyoke College, 2-0, in semifinal action. MIT then repeated its regular-season performance against Springfield in the championship game.

Kimberly Barker led the Cardinal and Gray with three goals and an assist while Kameron Klauber posted two goals and an assist. Danielle Smith and Anna Teruya each tallied two goals as Molly McShane earned three assists. Nirupama Yechoor contributed an assist while Keri Dixon collected 11 saves throughout the tournament.