• MIT Ranked 12th in the 2018 Learfield Directors' Cup Fall Standings
    January 03, 2019
    n the 2018 Fall Learfield Directors’ Cup standings, MIT is currently ranked 12th in the country among Division III programs with a total of 218.50 points. The Engineers are again the top-ranked program overall from the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) after claiming four league championships in the fall.
  • Gift from Richard Resch ’61 to Support MIT Crew Boathouse Renovation
    October 23, 2018
    Cambridge, Mass. (October 23) -- The MIT Department of Athletics, Physical Education, and Recreation (DAPER) has announced a gift from Richard J. Resch ’61 that will support a significant renovation of MIT’s Harold W. Pierce Boathouse. In recognition, the 52-year-old facility along the Charles River will be renamed the Richard J. Resch Boathouse.
  • Carrie Sampson Moore Receives 2018 NAKHE Distinguished Service Award
    October 22, 2018
    At the 2018 National Association for Kinesiology in Higher Education (NAKHE) Conference, MIT director of physical education and wellness Carrie Sampson Moore received the organization’s Distinguished Service Award.
  • Benedick Announces Retirement at the End of the 2018-19 Academic Year
    September 28, 2018
    MIT senior associate director of athletics John Benedick has announced his retirement, effective at the end of the 2018-19 academic year.
  • MIT Finishes Second in the 2018 Learfield Directors' Cup Final Standings
    May 31, 2018
    MIT has finished second overall in the final 2018 Learfield Directors’ Cup standings, which were released on Thursday morning. This marks the highest finish in history for the Engineers as MIT finished with a total of 1001.5 points.
  • MIT Captures NEWMAC Men's and Women's Presidents Cups
    May 30, 2018
    For the third straight year, MIT has captured the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men’s and Women’s Presidents Cups, as announced this afternoon at the league’s annual meetings. This is the fourth time since the inaugural season in 2012-13 that MIT has swept both NEWMAC Presidents Cups and is the fifth time the men and women have individually won the award.
  • Parking Options for This Week's MIT Postseason Athletic Events
    May 02, 2018
    Cambridge, Mass. (May 2) -- With the current construction ongoing on Vassar Street that includes the demolition of the West Garage, there are a number of nearby parking options that are available for this week's NEWMAC Softball and Tennis Championships at MIT, along with the New England D3 Outdoor Track and Field Championship.
  • MIT Leads in the 2018 Winter Learfield Directors' Cup Standings
    March 29, 2018
    In the final 2018 Winter Learfield Directors’ Cup standings, MIT is currently the national leader with a total of 686.50 points that includes 367 points in the winter season. The Engineers lead Johns Hopkins by a 47-point margin as the Blue Jays held the advantage following the fall season. In addition, the 367 winter points is the second-highest total nationally following a fall that saw MIT pick up 319.50 points.
  • Julie Soriero Receives the 2018 NCAA President's Pat Summitt Award
    January 18, 2018
    On Thursday afternoon at the NCAA Convention in Indianapolis, MIT director of athletics Julie Soriero was presented with the 2018 NCAA President’s Pat Summitt Award by NCAA President Mark Emmert.
  • Julie Soriero to Receive 2018 NCAA President's Pat Summitt Award
    January 11, 2018
    Julie Soriero, athletics director at MIT, will be the 2018 recipient of the NCAA President’s Pat Summitt Award, making her the first Division III administrator and second person overall to receive the honor. Soriero will accept the award Jan. 18 at the 2018 NCAA Convention in Indianapolis.
  • Carrie Sampson Moore Honored by the University of Minnesota
    November 30, 2017
    MIT Director of Physical Education Carrie Sampson Moore recently received the “Distinguished Alumni Award” from the College of Education and Human Development at the University of Minnesota. The award was established in 2010 and is selected from over 70,000 alumni, honoring alumni who have brought distinction to their professions and communities. The event, which honors just 25 alumni each year, took place at the McNamara Alumni Center on the University of Minnesota campus.