MIT Set To Host CWPA Division III Championship; Engineers Earn Top Seed

MIT Set To Host CWPA Division III Championship; Engineers Earn Top Seed

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. (October 11) – MIT water polo is set to host the Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Division III Championship inside the Al '51 & Barrie Zesiger Sports and Fitness Center Pool this weekend, October 14 and October 15, 2017.

The two-day, nine-game championship, will feature six teams from around the country including Division III No. 3, top-seed and host MIT, Division III No. 7 and second-seed Johns Hopkins University, third-seed Connecticut College, fourth-seed Penn State-Behrend, fifth-seed Monmouth College (Ill.) and sixth-seed Washington & Jefferson College. The six teams are split into two brackets (A: MIT, Penn State-Behrend and Monmouth; B: Johns Hopkins, Connecticut College, Washington & Jefferson).

On the opening day of competition set for Saturday, October 14, each team will play two matches against the other two teams in their respective brackets. Then on Sunday, October 15 the teams that finish in third place in each bracket will play at 9:30 a.m. in the fifth place game, the teams that finish in second in each bracket will play at 10:45 a.m. in the third place game and the teams that finish in first in each bracket will play at 12:15 p.m. for the CWPA Division III title.

For fans unable to make it to Cambridge for the championship weekend, all information regarding each game including live stats, live video with audio commentary, rosters and the tournament schedule can be found here: Division III Championship Tournament Central.

In the history of the tournament, Hopkins holds 16 Division III crowns (1994, 1995, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015) in 24 title games. Eight-time champion MIT (1991, 1997, 2000, 2003, 2007, 2010, 2014, 2016) will seek to defend its crown after downing Washington & Jefferson by a 17-8 score on October 23 at Penn State Behrend in Erie, Pa., in the 2016 title tilt.

MIT and Hopkins have combined to win 24 of the past 26 Division III tournament titles with W&J, Connecticut, Monmouth and Penn State Behrend aiming for the programs' first championships in 2017. Former varsity team Washington & Lee University defeated Johns Hopkins in 1992 and 1993 in the second and third Division III tournament for the only titles not held by either the Blue Jays or Engineers.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

Portions of this release were written by Ed Haas from the CWPA