Women's Openweight Crew

MIT Women's Crew Produces Twelve National Scholar Athletes

MIT Women's Crew Produces Twelve National Scholar Athletes

The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association announced its 2011 Scholar Athletes, and MIT placed 12 women on the list, the second-most for any Division I rowing program. The University of Wisconsin had the most scholar athletes with 13, and the University at Buffalo had the third-highest number at 11. Ithaca College, a Division III program, tied MIT for second place across all divisions, also having 12 scholar athletes on the list.

To be designated as a CRCA Scholar Athlete an individual must meet all of the following requirements: the student-athlete has met all eligibility rules as defined by her institution; the student-athlete was in her 2nd, 3rd, or 4th year of eligibility; the student-athlete rowed in her institution's NCAA or IRA eligible boat(s) for a minimum of 75% of the current spring races or racing in a regional conference event; and the student-athlete has had a 3.5 cumulative GPA or higher (on a 4-point scale) for her career (through the fall semester/quarter for the current competition year).

The Engineers earning this distinction were: Hilda Buss, Rachel Clary, Katie Everett, Rebecca Heywood, Tess Saxton-Fox, Allison Simi, and Monique Squiers from the openweight squad; as well as Lauren Ayers, Kathleen Inman, Man-Yan Lam, Sabine Schneider, and Elizabeth Wei from the lightweight squad.


The full list of CRCA Scholar Athletes can be found here: