CRCA Names 20 Engineers as 2020 CRCA Scholar-Athletes

Collage of 20 student-athletes from the MIT women's crew teams.

Cambridge, Mass. (September 29) -- As recently announced by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA), 20 members of the MIT women's lightweight and openweight crew teams have been named as CRCA Scholar-Athletes for the 2020 season. Seven lightweight crew members were recognized, while 13 openweight crew student-athletes earned the award.

The Scholar-Athlete Awards requirements have been modified for the 2020 season. Student-athletes must be in their second, third or fourth year of eligibility, must be ranked performance-wise in the top 50 percent of their team, or in the "NCAA Squad" (whichever is smaller) at the conclusion of the 2020 season, and must have a 3.5 cumulative GPA (on a 4.0 scale) or higher for their career, and through the fall semester or quarter for the current competition year.

On the lightweight team, senior Brigid Bane (Walpole, Mass.) leads the way as she is now a three-time Scholar-Athlete honoree. The Engineers also have four two-time selections with junior Sophie Anderson (Seattle, Wash.), junior Haley Higginbotham (Titusville, Fla.), senior Jennifer Nwenyi (Brooklyn, N.Y.) and junior Sarah Quraishi (Charlestown, Mass.).

Seniors Erica Flear (New York, N.Y.) and Aigneis Frey (New Canaan, Conn.) lead the openweight squad as three-time selections, along with junior Annika Heuser (Oakland, Calif.) and junior Dhamanpreet Kaur (Renton, Wash.) as two-time Scholar-Athlete performers.

MIT Women's Lightweight Crew Honorees
Sophie Anderson
Brigid Bane
Haley Higginbotham
Jaime Martin
Natalie Northrup
Jennifer Nwenyi
Sarah Quraishi

MIT Women's Openweight Crew Honorees
Jessica Arbuckle
Maria Barbosa
Rose Bielak
Emelie Eldracher
Erica Flear
Aigneis Frey
Annika Heuser
Dhamanpreet Kaur
Lara Ketonen
Emily Kiley
Lucy McMillan
Maria Perez-Cabarcas
Premila Rowles

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.