Sailing Sees Seven Named To 2017-18 ICSA All-Academic Team

Sailing Sees Seven Named To 2017-18 ICSA All-Academic Team

Cambridge, Mass. (September 14) – Seven sailors from the MIT sailing team were honored for their excellence in competition and in the classroom by the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) when the organization released its 2017-18 All-Academic Team selections on Friday. A total of 238 student-athletes, an increase of 15 from a season ago, were honored this year.

Ty Ingram (White Plains, N.Y.) and Cutter O'Connell (Del Mar, Calif.), who both graduated in 2018 earned a spot on the All-Academic Team for their work last year, while current seniors Sarah Caso (Duxbury, Mass.), Annie Hughes (Guilford, Conn.), Trevor Long (Hockessin, Del.), James Peraire-Bueno (Bedford, Mass.), and Tiffany Xi (Foster City, Calif.) all were honored for the first time in their careers.

In order to be eligible for the All-Academic Sailing Team, student-athletes must be a junior or senior, have at least a 3.30 (4.0 scale) cumulative GPA and be a starter or key reserve in at least seven university sponsored regattas. A seven person committee comprised of representatives from conferences in the ICSA selected the nominated sailors for the honor.

The Engineers had a historic year in 2017-18 as the coed team won their first ICSA National Championship since 1961 and the women's team finished fourth at their National Championship in the same week.

MIT returns to action this weekend as the Engineers host the Hatch Brown Trophy and head to Harvard University for the Regis Trophy. Competition is slated to begin at 10:30 am on Saturday and 9:30 am on Sunday.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on TwitterFacebookInstagram and YouTube.