Baseball Lands 16 Student-Athletes on NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Teams

Collection of 16 headshots of MIT Baseball student-athletes
Photos by

Westwood, Mass. (May 4) -- The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) has announced the 2020 Baseball Academic All-Conference selections. MIT tied for a league-best 16 selections as 66 total NEWMAC Baseball student-athletes were honored.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2019 fall semester, achieved second year academic status at their institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

MIT Honorees
Giovanni Ahern
Nick Aiello
Thomas Allison
Ben Burke
Tommy Hannan
Matt Johnston
Adam Katz
Zack Kopstein
Andrew Krause
Cory O'Shea
Tony Rice
Trey Roberts
Ethan Rolland
Jonah Scott
Jared Tramontano
Brian Williams 

Allison, Johnston, Kopstein and Rice are three-time selections, while Hannan, Katz, Krause, Rolland and Tramantano are now two-time honorees.

The 2020 MIT Baseball Senior Class finished their careers with an overall mark of 65-48-2 that included a 23-win season in 2019 that ended with a NEWMAC Championship and a berth in the 2019 NCAA Tournament.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.