2021 MIT Men's Lacrosse News

  • Men’s Lacrosse Collects Program-Record and League-High 20 NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Accolades
    June 29, 2021
    The MIT men’s lacrosse team generated a program-record 20 NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team selections, eclipsing the previous mark of 18 that was established in 2019 and tied last year. In addition, the Engineers extended their streak to eight straight years with the highest total in the league. The list is comprised of 75 student-athletes who earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale or 4.35 on a 5.0 scale after the 2021 spring semester, achieved second-year academic status at their institution, and been a member of the team for the entire semester.
  • Men's Lacrosse Receives Program-Record Four NEILA All-Academic Team Selections
    June 08, 2021
    The MIT men’s lacrosse team collected an Institute-record four All-Academic Team selections as announced by the New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association on Monday. Mark Heatzig ’21 (Boca Raton, Fla.), Oliver Heins ’21 (Fair Haven, N.J.), Eric Pence ‘21 (Portland, Ore.), and Gavin Vandenberg ’21 (Elmhurst, Ill.) represented the Engineers on the list as they eclipsed the previous program record of three honors which was set in 2016 and tied in 2019. Nominees must have senior or graduate-student standing, a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better on a 4.0 scale, and must be a starter or significant contributor on the field.
  • NEWMAC Announces 2021 Spring All-Sportsmanship Team Selections
    May 25, 2021
    Westwood, Mass. (May 25) -- The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) recently announced the 2021 Spring All-Sportsmanship Team honorees for baseball, men's lacrosse, women's lacrosse, softball, men's tennis, women's tennis, men's track and field and women's track and field.
  • Eric Pence Named a Finalist for the YRL Unsung Hero Award
    May 05, 2021
    Senior Eric Pence (Portland, Ore.) of the MIT men’s lacrosse team was named a finalist for the Yeardley Reynolds Love (YRL) Unsung Hero Award. Sponsored by the One Love Foundation and given annually to male and female lacrosse players from all three NCAA divisions, the award recognizes student-athletes who demonstrate dedication, integrity, humility, hard work, leadership, kindness, sportsmanship, and are actively involved in community service.
  • “Meet the Coaches” – Men’s Lacrosse Head Coach Tyler O’Keefe
    December 02, 2020
    In the next installment of the "Meet the Coaches" series by the Department of Athletics, Physical Education and Recreation (DAPER), we spotlight men’s lacrosse head coach/physical education and wellness instructor Tyler O’Keefe, who enters his fourth season at MIT.
  • Men’s Lacrosse Adds 10 Members of Class of 2024 to Roster
    September 15, 2020
    The MIT men’s lacrosse team has announced its incoming recruiting class for the 2020-21 academic year as 10 student-athletes join the program, which will be under the direction of Tyler O’Keefe, the Walter Alessi Head Coach, for the fourth season.