Men’s Lacrosse Adds 10 Members of Class of 2024 to Roster

A collage featuring action shots of Miles Oglesby, Peter DaTolla, Joey Lupo, Luke Chapman, Ryan Armstrong, Ryan Welch, Maurico Darcourt, Heath Nilsen, Jack McCordic, and Teague Rice.

Cambridge, Mass. (September 15) – The MIT men's lacrosse team has announced its incoming recruiting class for the 2020-21 academic year as 10 student-athletes join the program, which will be under the direction of Tyler O'Keefe, the Walter Alessi Head Coach, for the fourth season.

"We're excited for the immediate impact this class will have on our team's success, culture, and the MIT community as a whole," said O'Keefe. "They are a special group of young men and we're eager to begin working with them."

The Engineers' new additions include Ryan Armstrong (Hamden, Conn.), Luke Chapman (Houston, Texas), Mauricio Darcourt (Springfield, Va.), Peter DeTolla (Northport, N.Y.), Joey Lupo (Bedford, N.H.), Jack McCordic (Medfield, Mass.), Heath Nilsen (Carlsbad, Calif.), Miles Oglesby (Palmyra, N.J.), Teague Rice (Suffern, N.Y.), and Ryan Welch (Weston, Mass.).

Armstrong was a two-time varsity letterwinner while playing at Loomis Chaffee School.

A captain and four-time varsity letterwinner at Memorial High School, Chapman was selected for Division 1 All-District Defenseman accolades and was named to the US Lacrosse All-Academic Team. He also played for the club team 3D Texas.

Darcourt graduated from West Springfield High School, where he was a three-time varsity letterwinner.

A four-time varsity letterwinner at Northport High School, DeTolla also played for the club team Igloo.

Lupo was a two-time captain, a three-time New Hampshire Division 1 All-State selection, and a four-time varsity letterwinner at Bishop Guertin High School. He helped the Cardinals capture the Division 1 State Championship in 2017 and played for the New Hampshire Tomahawks club team.

A captain and four-time varsity letterwinner at Medfield High School, McCordic set the school record with 11 goals in one game. He was a Tri-Valley League Honorable Mention and was recognized by BostonLax with selections to the 2019 D2 All-State Team and the 2019 Top 50 player list. McCordic was also a member of the Laxachusetts club team.

Nilsen was a captain, a two-time varsity letterwinner, and a US Lacrosse All-Academic Team selection at La Costa Canyon High School. As a member of the Southern California Bulls club team, he was named an Inside Lacrosse Invitational All-Star and America's Finest Rivalry Offensive MVP.

Playing at Moorestown Friends School, Oglesby was a four-time varsity letterwinner and was voted the 2018 Most Improved Player. In addition, he was named the 2019 Suburban Family Magazine Player to Watch.

Rice graduated from Don Bosco Preparatory High School, where he was a captain, a two-time varsity letterwinner, and helped the Ironmen to a runner-up finish at the 2019 New York State Championship. He also played for O2 Lacrosse.

Welch received the Lacrosse Hard Hat Award and a varsity letter at Deerfield Academy. Playing for Fighting Clams, he was named a STX D1 Rising Showcase Standout.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.