Men’s Lacrosse Collects Program-Record and League-High 20 NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Accolades

A graphic with an aerial view of Roberts Field in the background with the NEWMAC men's lacrosse logo in the foreground along with the text Academic All-Conference Team

Westwood, Mass. (June 29) – The MIT men's lacrosse team generated a program-record 20 NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team selections, eclipsing the previous mark of 18 that was established in 2019 and tied last year. In addition, the Engineers extended their streak to eight straight years with the highest total in the league. The list is comprised of 75 student-athletes who earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale or 4.35 on a 5.0 scale after the 2021 spring semester, achieved second-year academic status at their institution, and been a member of the team for the entire semester.

Oliver Heins '21, Eric Pence '21, Hayden Stalter '21 received their third award while Gavin Vandenberg '21 along with rising juniors Lukas Drexler-Bruce (Denver, Colo.), Ben Dwyer (Baldwinsville, N.Y.), Liam Miller (Pasadena, Calif.), James Santoro (Tewksbury, N.J.), and Andy Shin (San Juan Capistrano, Calif.) were repeat honorees. Rising sophomores Teddy Corcoran (Harrison, N.Y.), Andrew Johnson (Dover, Mass.), Will Kupiec (Manhattan Beach, Calif.), Tory Lentine (Flemington, N.J.), Devin McCabe (New Castle, N.H.), Andrew Palleiko (Hopkinton, Mass.), Logan Paterson (Silver Spring, Md.), Chris Perrino (Yorktown Heights, N.Y.), Jay Theriault (Boxford, Mass.), David Vapnek (San Diego, Calif.), and Logan Vawter (Oakland, Calif.) made the list for the first time.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube.