MIT Field Hockey Amasses Zag Sports/NFHCA Academic Honors

A photo of the field hockey team facing forward
Photo by

Gilbert, Ariz. (March 25) – For the third time in program history, the MIT field hockey team generated the highest GPA among Division III programs as it collected its 18th straight Zag Sports/National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) National Academic Team Award. The Engineers, who compiled a 3.84 GPA on a 4.0 scale during the 2019 fall semester, saw a program-record 16 student-athletes earn a spot on the National Academic Squad, with five being named Scholars of Distinction.

To be eligible for the National Academic Squad, student-athletes must have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.30 through the first semester of the 2019-20 academic year. Seniors Devon Goetz (Rockville, Md.) and Taylor Grey (Horsham, Pa.) earned their third consecutive selections while juniors Megan Flynn (Branchburg, N.J.), Amanda Garofalo (Fairfield, N.J.), Jeanne Harabedian (Stockton, N.J.), Emma Majercak (Wayne, Pa.), Grace Moore (Boston, Mass.), and Delia Stephens (Austin, Texas) were repeat qualifiers. First-time honorees for MIT were junior Jennah Haque (Bethesda, Md.) along with sophomores Laura Chen (Califon, N.J.), Emily Genevriere (San Jose, Calif.), Lucy Kitch-Peck (Bethlehem, Pa.), Mia Reilly (Los Angeles, Calif.), Marina Rogers (Los Gatos, Calif.), Kiely Smiga-McManus (Etna, N.H.), and Juliana Strother (Mequon, Wis.).

The Engineers tied the program record for Scholar of Distinction accolades with five which was set in 2012. The award recognizes student-athletes with a cumulative GPA of 3.9 or higher through the first semester of the 2019-20 academic year. Flynn and Moore made the list for the second year in a row, joining three-time honorees Caitlin Mackey '15 and assistant coach Sarah Fay '15 as the only student-athletes to receive this award multiple times. Genevriere, Kitch-Peck, and Rogers rounded out the qualifiers for MIT, increasing the total to 21 student-athletes who have earned a spot on this list since the award was established in 2012.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.