Field Hockey Racks Up NFHCA Academic Honors

A graphic featuring action photos of MIT field hockey players who received academic awards from the National Field Hockey Coaches Association.

Brockport, N.Y. (March 29) – The MIT field hockey team led all Division III programs with an Institute-record 11 National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Scholars of Distinction while a program-record 21 student-athletes were named to the National Academic Squad. The Engineers, who compiled a 3.87 GPA on a 4.0 scale during the 2020 fall semester, tied Kean University for the highest team GPA and were recipients of their 19th straight National Academic Team Award. This was the second year in a row and fourth time MIT has produced the highest GPA among Division III teams.

The Scholar of Distinction award recognizes student-athletes with a cumulative GPA of 3.9 or higher through the first semester of the 2020-21 academic year. Seniors Megan Flynn (Branchburg, N.J.) and Grace Moore (Boston, Mass.) qualified for the third time while senior Delia Stephens (Austin, Texas) and juniors Emily Genevriere (San Jose, Calif.), Lucy Kitch-Peck (Bethlehem, Md.), and Marina Rogers (Los Gatos, Calif.) made the list for the second time. Senior Amanda Garofalo (Fairfield, N.J.) along with sophomores Carly Briggs (Lexington, Mass.), Liberty Ladd (Falmouth, Maine), Helen Liu (Short Hills, N.J.), and Laura Schwendeman (Pittsburgh, Pa.) rounded out MIT's group of first-time recipients. The previous program record of Scholar of Distinction honorees was five, which was set in 2012 and then tied in 2019.

The Engineers' tally of 21 National Academic Squad selections surpasses the Institute record of 16 that was established last season. To be eligible for the National Academic Squad, student-athletes must have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.30 through the first semester of the current academic year. Flynn, Garofalo, Moore, Stephens, and seniors Jeanne Harabedian (Stockton, N.J.) and Emma Majercak (Wayne, Pa.) collected their third award. Genevriere, Kitch-Peck, Rogers, senior Jennah Haque (Bethesda, Md.), and juniors Laura Chen (Califon, N.J.), Mia Reilly (Los Angeles, Calif.), and Juliana Strother (Mequon, Wis.) were repeat qualifiers. Briggs, Ladd, Liu, Schwendeman, junior Liv Parsons (Leesburg, Va.), and sophomores Jolie Bercow (Port Washington, N.Y.), Paige Forester (Glencoe, Ill.), and Erica Radler (Wayne, N.J.) were first-time honorees.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.